nesting

Everyone talks about nesting when you are pregnant.  People ask, “are you nesting yet?” I often really don’t know how to respond to that question.  I feel like I have been nesting all of my adult life.  I am constantly evaluating the things I have and the things I don’t need, and the things I don’t want but still seem to have.  When storage bins start to pile up in my basement I feel like I really need to purge.

But right now I have the special circumstance of a changing body.  Growing a baby has been so exciting and I am really embracing these changes, but I look at all the clothes that don’t fit right now and my organizer brain says, “you don’t need this stuff”.  But, hello! I would be crazy to just get rid of all my clothes that don’t fit right now.  I don’t know if I will fit into them again. However, I can’t help but also think this may be an opportunity to do something that I have really always wanted to do, and that is reduce my clothes to a capsule, or if not so much a capsule really only keeping the things that I really absolutely love. A lot of things in my wardrobe that I can’t wear now may also be out of style come next year when they fit again, so maybe my idea isn’t’ as crazy as I think.

I know that after baby bee is here my body may be really different.  Then again, it might not be (there is a history in my family of women bouncing back to their pre-baby bodies pretty quick). I also know my life will be really different. I may not want as many choices, I may not have the time for them.

More than anything I want to embrace simplicity.  I have been checking out a lot of Instagram feeds and blogs lately of families living in small spaces.  I can’t even imagine this but 5 people living in a 300 sq ft camper.  If I lived in that much space I certainly wouldn’t have room for as much stuff as I have.  What things would I get rid of? I would surely only keep the things that I love, right? I would really like to embrace that attitude, imagine that I’m moving into a living space about 1/4 the size of what I live in now, we have about 650 sq ft in our upstairs, but our basement doubles the space.

Has anyone else wanted to do something like this, or have you? I would love to hear your thoughts, tips, tricks, or suggestions.

Leave a Reply

